Welcome to the official website for "The Purple Elephant." Here's where you can find out the latest book news or get the recipe for Prince Carmel's famous cocoa cookies. Your favorite characters visit here often, so look for them in the "comments!"


Tuesday, November 5, 2013

Special Promotion!

I am running a special promotion on Amazon this weekend!  The kindle version of The Purple Elephant will be offered free from 11/8/13-11/10/13 and, for the first time ever, the kindle version of The Purple Elephant: The Journey Home will be offered at a sale price from 11/8/13-11/14/13. 

Happy reading!

Saturday, October 12, 2013

Announcing the release of a new Duck book!

Duck and his friends are back!  Enjoy another silly adventures as Cat calls on Duck for help with his slow computer.  After Duck tries to help, the computer runs so fast that Duck has to use his helicoper to catch it!

Duck and Friends: The Computer Chase

by Donna McFarland


Thursday, September 5, 2013

Announcing the release of "The Purple Elephant: The Journey Home!"

I am happy to announce the release of The Purple Elephant: The Journey Home, book 2 in The Purple Elephant series! It is available on Amazon in paperback and kindle versions. 

 In celebration of this release, the kindle version of The Purple Elephant book 1 of the series is free this weekend on Amazon.

Enjoy!  And remember, don't touch any purple elephants!

Saturday, August 17, 2013

Cover release!

The Purple Elephant: The Journey Home is about to be released!

Prince Carmel completed his quest to the Unicorn Mountains, but before he can go home he has to take Princess Elena back to her castle. The journey shouldn't be too hard – at least he's rid of the purple elephant. Or is he?

Here is a sneak peak at the cover. 

Tuesday, May 28, 2013

Two sequels coming!

Hello readers!  I am excited to report that the Purple Elephant sequel is well on it's way! And just as exciting... due to popular demand I also have a Duck and Friends sequel in the pipeline! I am also happy to announce that Kim Sponaugle, who drew the wonderful illustrations for the original books, will also illustrate the sequels.  Look for a cover release later this summer!

Saturday, March 30, 2013

Sequel News

Still working on a title for the sequel, but I'm getting closer! The sequel is the story of how Prince Carmel and Princess Elena travel to Elena's home in Nod.  And yes, the purple elephant might show up again.

Yesterday I tried out the newest chapters on my 8-year-old son-o-meter.  He giggled several times, so I think I'm on the right track!

Stay tuned for more updates...

Friday, March 1, 2013

Sequel in progress!

Fans of Purple Elephant, I am working hard on the sequel!  I just got my manuscript back from my editor and, well, I've got a lot more work to do.  But it will be a better book because of it.  Planned release date is Summer, 2013.  Keep checking back for more updates!

Saturday, February 2, 2013

The Purple Elephant second edition is now in color!

I am happy to announce the release of the second edition of The Purple Elephant in color!  Previously, the 2009 edition has been the only color edition available.  The 2012 color edition differs from the 2012 black and white version in page count because the b&w version uses a larger font size.  The color version uses 12 point font which lowers the page count and printing cost.  Same great pictures, same great story, now in color!

Sunday, January 6, 2013

Duck and Friends now available!

I am excited to announce the release of my latest book: Duck and Friends: The Dinosaur Bones on Kindle and paperback.  It is an early reader geared for first and second grade readers.  The story is set on Duck's farm nearby in Pleasant Hill, Oregon.  It's fun, it's fast-paced, and it's silly enough to keep even reluctant readers interested.  Check it out!

http://www.amazon.com/Duck-Friends-Dinosaur-Bones-ebook/dp/B00ASOUUU8/ref=zg_bs_155010011_f_43

Thursday, December 20, 2012

Cover Release!

Coming soon in January, 2013: Duck and Friends: The Dinosaur Bones!

Meet Duck -- a clever, resourceful farmer -- and his best friends, Hen and Cat.  When Duck reads a book about fossils, he invites his friends to come with him on a dinosaur dig.  It turns out that digging up the bones is the easy part.  Back at the farm, the other animals aren't too sure they really want a T-Rex skeleton in the barn...  (Reading level: 1st-2nd grade)

Saturday, November 10, 2012

Coming soon!

Announcing the publication of a new book for younger readers!

Duck and Friends: The Dinosaur Bones is a delightfully silly adventure about a duck who owns a farm in Pleasant Hill.  This book is a 1st-2nd grade level early reader, written for ages 4-8.  It will be released in Kindle soon and in paperback in January, 2013.  The paperback version will contain wonderful black & white drawings by Kim Sponaugle, the illustrator who did The Purple Elephant.

Thursday, October 25, 2012

Blogger Reviews!

I wanted to share the latest review of The Purple Elephant.  It is actually a double review as it is by both reviewer Sivje Parish and her daughter Ahnalin who is 8.  I love the comments from kids!  Here's the link: http://goosegirlsews.blogspot.com/2012/10/the-purple-elephant.html

And here is an interview that blogger Virginia Knowles wrote up after I published the first edition of the book: http://startwellhomeschool.blogspot.com/2009/11/purple-elephant-and-interview-with.html

If you would like to contribute a quote to the "What the critics are saying" page, I just might include it!  The beauty of Kindle is that I can easily submit updates and add in additional quotes without having to go through the whole publishing process.  Please email your quote to: ThePurpleElephantBook@gmail.com and include your age if you're a kid.